Fair Housing Act (FHA)

FHA, or Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, introduced meaningful federal enforcement to fair housing in the U.S.

HUD is the federal agency that administers and enforces FHA.

FHA prohibits discrimination in all aspects of “residential real-estate related transactions,” including but not limited to:

  • Making loans to buy, build, repair or improve a dwelling
  • Purchasing real estate loans
  • Selling, brokering or appraising residential real estate
  • Selling or renting a dwelling


FHA prohibits discrimination based on:

  • Race or color
  • National origin
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Familial status (defined as children under the age of 18 living with a parent or legal custodian, pregnant women and people securing custody of children under 18)
  • Handicap